The spirit of AKA hovering over us and our little deeds and acts—smoothing here, covering there, broadening younger, and making us do our best to think, to act, up to the highest in us. It is a force bigger than we are, stronger than we are, and it compels us to climb to the heights where it dwells.

                                                                                          —Ethel Hedgeman Lyle


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated (AKA) is an international service organization that was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. in 1908. It is the oldest Greek-lettered organization established by African-American college-educated women.

Alpha Kappa Alpha is comprised of a nucleus of 260,000 members in graduate and undergraduate chapters in the United States, the U. S. Virgin Islands, the Caribbean, Canada, Japan, Germany, Korea and on the continent of Africa.

Its membership is comprised of distinguished women who boast excellent academic records, proven leadership skills, and are involved in the global community through advocacy and service. Alpha Kappa Alpha has dedicated itself to improving the quality of life for citizens worldwide and promoting peace.


International and Regional Contacts


President   Ottilie M. Woodruff

Vice President  Denise V. Cobbs

Secretary  Christina Williams

Assistant Secretary  Janeen J. V. Greene

Financial Secretary Mary Hall

Assistant Financial Secretary  Alicia Officer

Treasurer Gail P. McDaniel

Corresponding Secretary  Schurron Cowart

Graduate Advisor  Yvonne B. Evans

Parliamentarian Carmen L. Snell

Ivy Leaf Reporter Stacy L. Beauford

Historian Sharon R. Amos

Membership Chairman Geraldine Horton

Assistant Membership Chairman  Kimberly Backey

Hospitality Chairman Lisa Adams-Cornelius

Chaplain Nellie B. King

Members at Large Alise Adams & Lillian Davis-Wilson

Sargent at Arms Marjorie J. Coleman

Protocol Chairman  Michea Pope-Moss

Standards Chairman  Sharon M. Bradley
Technology Chairman Lori L. Adams-Mabry

Sisterly Relations   Crystal Benton / Debbie White Stokes

NPHC Rep Kimisha Houston & Marvel Ross-Jones

EAF Captain  Lori L. Adams-Mabry

Risk Management Twyla S. Hardy

Connections Chairman  Pamela Stephens-Jackson

Nomination Committee Chairman Josephine Cross

Rituals Chairman Dawn E. Sanders-Garrett

Business Manager Yvonne B. Evans

Target I  Teena M. Jones/ Edith M. Terrell 

Target II  Josephine Cross / Frances Harris

Target III  Janet E. Barnes

Target IV  Renee Harns/Debbie White-Stokes

Target V   Tamekia Hall/Alisa Adams

Claude & Ouida Clapp Chairman  TBA


Chartered on June 25, 1944 by a group of young women returning home from college, the Gamma Phi Omega Chapter has been providing programs of service to the WNY community for over 58 years.  The purpose of this chapter shall be to retain and reactivate all Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority members in the Buffalo area; to initiate those who are recommended and meet the requirements of membership; to promote unity and friendship among the members; to implement programs that benefit the community on a theme suitable to our national body in the areas of scholarship, heritage, and social interaction. Click below for Charter Members.



 Dawn Sanders-Garrett

 WNY Cluster Coordinator

 Great Lakes Region

 Geraldine Horton

 International Standards Committee

 Regional Standards Chairman

Stacy Lewis Beauford

WNY Connections Coordinator

Glenda Baskin Glover

International President


Carrie J. Clark

Great Lakes Regional Director

Edith M. Terrell

Regional Protocol Committee

 Janeen J.V. Greene

Regional Protocol Committee

 Gina R. Mayo-Hawk

Regional I-Team Investigations Committee

Meetings are held the second Saturday of each month, except in July and August at 10:00am.

802 Kenmore Avenue            Buffalo, New York